Board of Directors

PHOTO_DOMINIQUE_par_J-S.Veilleux_2016.jpg

T8aminik (Dominique) Rankin, C.M., C.Q.
Co-founder and President


Grandfather T8aminik (that's how we write the name Dominique in Algonquin) was born in the forests of northern Abitibi, into a family that had managed to preserve the nomadic lifestyle of their ancestors. At the age of 7, he was chosen to succeed his father as hereditary chief.

In the tradition, the role of chief had to be accompanied by the role of medicine man. Thus, from his early childhood, he was placed on a long path of learning and initiation with the elders of his community, but also with various recognized guides in the country, including the late William Commanda, whose right hand he was for many years. In 2006, Grandfather T8aminik in turn became an Elder fully recognized by his peers. His real name is Kapiteotak ("He who can be heard crying from afar"), and he is now dedicated to his intended role as a teacher and spiritual leader.

A survivor of the terrible residential school era, he gives a vibrant testimony on forgiveness and reconciliation in On nous appelait les Sauvages (They called us Savages), written by Marie-Josée Tardif.

A member of the Order of Canada, a Knight of the National Order of Quebec (the highest honours in Canada and Quebec), and a recipient of the Lieutenant Governor of Quebec, the National Assembly of Quebec, and the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal, T8aminik is known for his commitment to the promotion of Aboriginal culture and philosophy both in Canada and internationally. He serves as co-chair of the World Council of Religions for Peace (a UN-related organization) and as a Senator for the Native Friendship Centres of Canada.

A former political leader of the Algonquin Nation, he founded the Kina8at Organization and the Dominique Rankin Foundation with Marie-Josée Tardif.

Marie-Josee-par-JS-Veilleux.webp

Marie-Josée Tardif
Co-founder and Vice President


For the first 15 years of her professional life, Marie-Josée made a name for herself as a journalist and news anchor for national television and radio stations (Radio-Canada, RDI, LCN, Radio Rock-Détente). She has worked mainly in Quebec, but also in Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Great Britain.

In 2007 her life changed when the Algonquin elders gave her a pipe. (She will receive a second one in 2015). This is a great sign of respect and recognition, but it also implies a long road of learning the language, philosophy and traditional medicine of this thousand-year-old people. This is why Marie-Josée teaches and travels regularly with Grandfather T8aminik.

In 2013, she co-founded the Kina8at organization with T8aminik, and then the Dominique Rankin Foundation in 2020. Like T8aminik, she is also an advisor and trainer at the Canadian School of Public Service, a consultant and trainer at the University of Notre Dame in Indiana, USA. She serves on the Global Council of the Religions for Peace Women of Faith Network, as well as on the Ethics in Action Committee, created by the Vatican to develop an inter-religious moral consensus on the major challenges of integral sustainable development.

Marie-Josée is the author of They Called Us Savages (Vidacom Publishing, 2021) and La Leçon de Sitar ou l'Art de vibrer de toutes ses cordes (Éditions du Roseau, 2007).

MJ-Tremblay.webp

Marie-Joelle Tremblay

Secretary-Treasurer

Marie-Joelle is currently the Executive Director of the Indigenous non-profit organization Kina8at (which means "together" in Anicinape, Algonquin). In previous years, she was the Executive Director of the Champboisé Healing Centre in the Outaouais region. Prior to that, for almost ten years, she served as a team supervisor and life and business insurance specialist for The Co-operators Group. The management skills she developed there are now extremely useful to Kina8at, both in directing operations and in developing projects and supervising our teams.

Marie-Joelle is also passionate about people and their health. She holds a Bachelor's degree in Anatomy and Cell Biology from McGill University and has also completed training as a naturopath and studies in psychology. Marie-Joelle believes that we are all called to walk a path of healing and reconciliation; a path that can be done with pleasure and joy. This is why she feels so close to the mission of the Dominique Rankin Foundation.

Lise-Morissat-300x235.jpg

Lise Morissat

Administrator

Manager, Lise Morissat, co-shareholder, has helped Stageline grow from an event management company to a world leader in the design, manufacturing and distribution of mobile stages. Her leadership, strategic vision for growth and international experience make her stand out as one of Quebec's leading women.

Believing in the transmission of knowledge and the power of mentoring, she accompanies young leaders as well as seasoned entrepreneurs in the pursuit of their goals. Entrepreneur, investor and corporate director, Lise has been involved with various organizations for many years and generously shares her time and skills on different boards of directors, including those of Cirque Éloize, Humanitae Residence for seniors with Alzheimer's disease, and Maison de la Sérénité palliative care in Laval. She believes in the power of committed citizenship to contribute to a society of knowing how to be and live together.

AMalacket_web_fondblanc.png

André Malacket

Administrator

A seasoned worker in many hats, André Malacket has developed a very good knowledge of the workings of fundraising.

He has worked on philanthropic development plans for Tennis Canada, the Martin Matte Foundation and the Montreal Psychoanalytical Clinic, among others. He has accompanied institutions in their major fundraising campaigns: the Musée de la civilisation in Quebec City - Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (La Grande Bibliothèque) - Fondation de l'Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont. He has collaborated with teams of specialists from major Montreal communications firms in the development of powerful messages for fundraising campaigns.

These various field experiences have allowed him to broaden his understanding of philanthropy in general, and in particular of the mechanisms that allow organizations to diversify their sources of revenue. With a very good understanding of regional issues, he actively participates, among others, in the major fundraising campaign of the Fondation Asselin du Cégep de Jonquière and the Cégep de Granby. His experience in philanthropy combined with his work as a communications director for major cultural companies has contributed to his understanding of the issues facing the philanthropic community and its positioning strategies. He is currently the Executive Director of the Fondation Cité de la Santé in Laval.

index.jpg

Sylvain Carufel

Administrator

 

A singer-songwriter musician and founder of La Solution est en vous, he founded his company with the intention of making the biggest positive impact possible. Today his community reaches up to 24 million people a week "organically" on Facebook. He has nearly 3.3 million followers.

A man with a heart who is always looking to make a difference, he has joined the Dominique Rankin Foundation to help spread the word as much as possible.

Le Conseil d'administration

PHOTO_DOMINIQUE_par_J-S.Veilleux_2016.jpg

T8aminik (Dominique) Rankin, C.M., C.Q.

Cofondateur et président

Grand-père T8aminik (c'est ainsi qu'on écrit le prénom Dominique en algonquin) est né dans les forêts du nord de l'Abitibi, au sein d'une famille qui avait réussi jusque là à préserver le mode de vie nomade de ses ancêtres. Dès l'âge de 7 ans, il fut désigné pour prendre la succession de son père à titre de chef héréditaire.

 

Dans la tradition, le rôle de chef devait nécessairement s'accompagner de celui d'homme-médecine. C'est ainsi que dès sa plus jeune enfance, il fut placé sur un long chemin d'apprentissages et d'initiations auprès des aînés de sa communauté, mais aussi auprès de différents guides reconnus au pays, notamment le regretté William Commanda, dont il fut le bras droit pendant de nombreuses années. En 2006, Grand-père T8aminik est à son tour devenu un aîné pleinement reconnu par ses pairs. De son vrai nom Kapiteotak ("Celui qu'on entend pleurer de loin"), il se consacre désormais au rôle d'enseignant et de leader spirituel auquel on le destinait.

 

Survivant de la terrible époque des Pensionnats indiens, il livre un vibrant témoignage sur le pardon et la réconciliation dans On nous appelait les Sauvages (They called us Savages, dans sa version en langue anglaise), écrit par Marie-Josée Tardif. 

 

Membre de l'Ordre du Canada, Chevalier de l'Ordre national du Québec (les plus hautes distinctions du Canada et du Québec), récipiendaire des médailles du Lieutenant-Gouverneur du Québec, de l'Assemblée nationale du Québec et du Jubilée de diamant de la Reine Élizabeth, T8aminik est reconnu pour son engagement à faire connaître la culture et la philosophie autochtones, tant au Canada qu’ailleurs dans le monde. Il siège notamment comme co-président au Conseil mondial de Religions for Peace (une organisation liée à l'ONU) et agit à titre de Sénateur pour les Centres d'amitié autochtones du Canada.

 

Autrefois grand chef politique de la nation algonquine, il a fondé avec Marie-Josée Tardif l’Organisme Kina8at et la Fondation Dominique Rankin.

Marie-Josee-par-JS-Veilleux.webp

Marie-Josée Tardif

Cofondatrice et vice-présidente

Pendant les 15 premières années de sa vie professionnelle, Marie-Josée s'est fait connaître à titre de journaliste et chef d'antenne dans les chaînes de télé et de radio nationales (Radio-Canada, RDI, LCN, Radio Rock-Détente). Elle a principalement oeuvré au Québec, mais aussi en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba et en Grande-Bretagne.

 

En 2007 sa vie bascule quand les aînés algonquins lui remettent un calumet. (Elle en recevra un deuxième en 2015). Il s'agit là d'une grande marque de respect et de reconnaissance, qui implique toutefois de s'engager sur un long chemin d'apprentissage de la langue, la philosophie et la médecine traditionnelle de ce peuple millénaire. Voilà pourquoi Marie-Josée  enseigne et voyage régulièrement aux côtés de Grand-père T8aminik.

En 2013, elle a cofondé avec T8aminik l'organisme Kina8at, puis la Fondation Dominique Rankin en 2020. Comme T8aminik, elle est également conseillère et formatrice à l'École de la fonction publique canadienne, consultante et formatrice à l'Université Notre-Dame, en Indiana (États-Unis). Elle siège au Conseil mondial du Religions for Peace Women of Faith Network, de même qu'au comité Ethics in Action, créé par le Vatican afin de développer un consensus moral inter-religieux sur les grands défis du développement durable intégral.

Marie-Josée est l'auteure de On nous appelait les Sauvages (Éditions Le Jour, 2011) et de La Leçon de Sitar ou l'Art de vibrer de toutes ses cordes (Éditions du Roseau, 2007).

MJ-Tremblay.webp

Marie-Joelle Tremblay

Secrétaire-trésorière

Marie-Joelle est présentement directrice générale de l'Organisme à but non lucratif autochtone Kina8at (qui signifie ensemble en anicinape, algonquin). Au cours des années précédentes, elle était la directrice générale du Centre de ressourcement Champboisé, en Outaouais. Auparavant, pendant près de dix ans, elle a agi à titre de superviseure d’équipe et de spécialiste en assurance vie et entreprise, pour le groupe Co-operators. Les compétences en gestion qu’elle y a développées sont aujourd’hui extrêmement utiles à Kina8at, tant pour la direction des opérations que pour le développement de projets et la supervision de nos équipes.

 

Marie-Joelle se passionne également pour l’être humain et sa santé. Détentrice d’un Baccalauréat en anatomie et biologie cellulaire de l’Université de McGill, elle a également complété une formation de naturopathe et effectué des études en psychologie. Marie-Joelle considère que nous sommes tous appelés à marcher sur un chemin de guérison et de réconciliation; un chemin qui peut se faire dans le plaisir et dans la joie. Voilà pourquoi elle se sent si proche de la mission de Kina8at.

Lise-Morissat-300x235.jpg

Lise Morissat

Administratrice

Gestionnaire, Lise Morissat, coactionnaire, a participé à ce que Stageline, d’une compagnie de gestion d’événements devienne un leader mondial dans la conception, la fabrication et la distribution de scènes mobiles. Son leadership, sa vision stratégique de croissance et son expérience à l’international lui permettent de se distinguer comme une des leaders féminins du Québec.

Croyant à la transmission des connaissances et à la force du mentorat, elle accompagne autant de jeunes leaders que des entrepreneurs chevronnés dans la poursuite de leurs objectifs. Entrepreneure, investisseur, administratrices de sociétés, Lise est impliquée auprès de différents organismes depuis plusieurs années et partage généreusement son temps et ses compétences aux seins de différents conseils d’administration, notamment ceux du Cirque Éloize, Résidence Humanitae pour aînés atteints d’Alzheimer, Maison de la Sérénité soins palliatifs de Laval. Elle croit en la force de la citoyenneté engagée pour contribuer à une société du savoir être et vivre ensemble.

AMalacket_web_fondblanc.png

André Malacket

Administrateur

Travailleur chevronné aux multiples chapeaux, André Malacket a développé une très bonne connaissance des rouages entourant la collecte de fonds.

 

Il a travaillé à l'élaboration de plans de développement philanthropique pour Tennis Canada – la Fondation Martin Matte – la Clinique Psychanalytique de Montréal, entres autres. Il a accompagné des institutions dans leur campagne majeure de financement : le Musée de la civilisation à Québec - Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (La Grande Bibliothèque) - la Fondation de l’Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont. Il a collaboré avec des équipes de spécialistes issues de grandes boîtes de communication montréalaises à l’édification de messages porteurs pour des campagnes de financement.

 

Ces diverses expériences de terrain lui permettent d'élargir sa compréhension de la philanthropie en général, et en particulier des mécanismes qui permettent aux organismes de diversifier leurs sources de revenus. Doté d’une très bonne compréhension des enjeux régionaux, il participe activement, entres autres, à la campagne majeure de financement de la Fondation Asselin du Cégep de Jonquière et du Cégep de Granby. Ses expériences en philanthropie combinées à la direction des communications auprès de grandes entreprises culturelles ont contribué à sa compréhension des enjeux du milieu philanthropique face à ses stratégies de positionnement. Il est actuellement le directeur général de la Fondation Cité de la Santé, à Laval.

index.jpg

Sylvain Carufel

Administrateur

 

Musicien auteur-compositeur-interprète et fondateur de La solution est en vous, il a fondé son entreprise avec l’intention d’avoir le plus grand impact positif possible. Aujourd’hui sa communauté rejoint jusqu’à 24 millions de personnes par semaine « de façon organique » sur Facebook. Il compte près de 3,3 millions d’abonnés.

Homme de coeur qui cherche constamment à apporter sa contribution, il s'est joint à la Fondation Dominique Rankin pour faire rayonner la cause le plus possible.